My platform game engine using MonoGame

I would like to present the hobby project that I’ve been working on for a while now. It’s open source, and the repository is located at https://github.com/bramdemoor/MonoGame-PlatformerPOC.

It’s a proof of concept of a multiplayer platform game, built using MonoGame, the (pretty awesome) open-source XNA port. The main idea here is to play around with the POC until I have a solid foundation for a game. After that, I will start to develop the ‘real’ game (design document is ready, I’m looking forward to implementing it!).

I work this way because I often tried to do a lot of things at the same time in the past. Eventually, all these attempts failed miserably, so that’s why I’m taking the step-by-step approach now. And it’s working out pretty good so far.

When it’s completed, the engine will feature:

  • LAN network play for two to eight players (using the Lidgren network library)
  • Basic AI bots (allows up to 16 players in total)
  • In-game console
  • Full debug mode
  • Tiled level editor
  • Horizontally scrolling levels with parallax backgrounds
  • Multiple characters
  • Multiple game modes
  • Multiple weapons
  • Different tilesets and level backgrounds
  • Unit tests
  • Compiled to run at many platforms (“everything monogame supports”)

Some of these features are already partially implemented at the moment. But I still have a lot of work to do, and because of my limited time, it will take a while before everything is done.

Anyway, it’s in no way meant to be a one-size-fits-all game engine. It’s just a pile of code for my own use, but I hope somebody else can use it too.

In a while, I might post a video of the game in action, and also some follow-up posts about this project. All depends on the interest of course, so make sure to follow the project on GitHub or comment/tweet. That’s the best encouragement for a lazy developer 😉

Finally, here’s a screenshot of what the thing looks like now. Please note that I used some free graphics in combination with my own uber-sucky photoshop skills. The result: It looks like crap 😉

Don’t worry, the final game will feature graphics by a designer.

One thought on “My platform game engine using MonoGame

Leave a Reply

